Mistakes When Sharing Your LinkedIn Profile (1 of 2)

June 2nd, 2011 | by Jason Alba |

There are two common mistakes people make when sharing their LinkedIn Profile.   One is that we share our “public profile” URL and assume people can see the entire profile.

How naive of us to think that’s how it would work, right?

Actually, this is one of my pet peeves that I hope LinkedIn changes.

Let me share what’s going on.  Yesterday I sent this tweet:

Some people said they could see my slideshare presentation, others said they couldn’t, and others said they saw the box but it wasn’t loading (which is a different problem).

The people who couldn’t see my slideshare presentation probably did this:

  1. Went to my LinkedIn Profile, from the link I included in Twitter (www.LinkedIn.com/in/jasonalba)
  2. Looked for it, didn’t find it.
  3. Reported that it wasn’t there.

FAIL.

The people who COULD see the slideshare app probably did this:

  1. Went to my LinkedIn Profile, from the link I included in Twitter (www.LinkedIn.com/in/jasonalba)
  2. Clicked on the View Full Profile button (see below).
  3. Were switched over from my non-full profile to the Full Profile view.

You have to be logged in to see the full profile.

I emailed LinkedIn customer service a few months ago asking why some people couldn’t see my Slideshare app and they said they changed something on my account so that everyone could see it… but perhaps this is just too new and they haven’t had enough complaints.

It’s unfortunate that people think they are sending their entire profile when they are only sending a portion.

If you send your link, you almost have to even say “make sure you click on the View Full Profile button so you can see everything.

Lame, huh?

  1. 2 Responses to “Mistakes When Sharing Your LinkedIn Profile (1 of 2)”

  2. By Richard on Jun 2, 2011 | Reply

    Hi Jason!

    I checked out the slide show and it worked and yes I switched to “View full profile” mode…I see you are staying busy as usual!!

  3. By Allen Angle on Jun 2, 2011 | Reply

    I figured that would be the case when I saw your link. Works the same for your Reading List, Behance Portfolio and Box.net files for me. Only people that I am already connected to can see those items. I think the type account you have changes that as well doesn’t it?

Post a Comment