I am frequently asked what happens if you disconnect with a connection on LinkedIn … most people want to know if their contact will get a message. I think we simply don’t want to hurt feelings, as the connection might interpret the disconnect message to read something like:
Jason has disconnected from you in LinkedIn. Yeah, you just aren’t good enough. So pack up all your toys and take off. Don’t bother to call, either, it’s over!
Probably 90% of the time that isn’t the message, but we’d rather avoid misunderstanding, right? So my answer is, the contact will not receive any message from LinkedIn, and probably won’t even notice you disconnected.
But, there’s something I just became aware of… if you disconnect from someone apparently you can’t ever connect with them again in LinkedIn….!
I don’t even want to test this since I don’t want to lose an opportunity for a future connection, but from what I’m told you can’t send an invitation to the person’s email again if you’ve disconnected.
And apparently they can’t invite you….
If anyone has any further clarification I’d love to hear it. If this is true, it makes me think thrice about how/why/when I would disconnect from someone (and ruin future opportunities to connect).