How To Hide Your LinkedIn Groups

May 23rd, 2008 | by Jason Alba |

I was on a number of Groups but decided to get off of them because it was cluttering up my profile. And of course, I wanted to make sure that my JibberJobber Group logo wasn’t buried with a bunch of other groups.

What I *should have* done was to stay in the Group, but not shown the Group logo on my profile. Duh.

Staying in the Group would have given me all the benefits of the LinkedIn Group, but choosing to not show the logo on my profile would unclutter what my viewers saw.

In this case, I can have my cake and eat it too! Here’s how:

Go to your Groups:

Click on Settings for the particular Group you don’t want to show on your profile:

The second set of radio buttons allows you to not show the Group logo… it defaults to showing it:

Of course, I’m hoping all of my JibberJobber Group members are showing the Group on their profile! So don’t do that to my group ;) but do it on other groups to keep your profile clean.

Thanks to Thomas E. Kenny for the comment on my “benefits for LinkedIn Group members” post for his comment, which spurred this post :)

  1. 4 Responses to “How To Hide Your LinkedIn Groups”

  2. By jitendra vyas on Oct 5, 2010 | Reply

    I tried this but even after after selected no. group logo is still showing in profile.

  3. By Jason Alba on Oct 6, 2010 | Reply

    When you go back to your Profile page, in edit mode, it shows ALL of them, but if you read the text it will show whether something is visible or not… perhaps that’s what you are seeing?

  4. By Michael on Jun 8, 2011 | Reply

    How do you block groups that you’ve joined from being displayed on the LinkedIn Updates page? I removed it so it doesn’t show up on my profile but it’s not removed from the update page which other connections can see. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks…

  5. By David on Nov 4, 2011 | Reply

    I unchecked the box that says, “Display the group logo on your profile,” but it still shows on my profile when I click View Profile. I don’t want others to know what groups I’m in. How do I remove it?

Post a Comment